Full Metal Panic!

So I finally decided to watch Full Metal Panic, and remembered why I had been putting it off for so long. I really don’t like old anime. I don’t like the art styles. I don’t like the music. I don’t like the tropes that were common at the time. I don’t like the mech designs. And I hate the aspect ratio. It really isn’t my thing. I think anime overall has vastly improved over the last decade or so, and thus stuff pre-2005 I usually stay away from. Sure some things are good enough to be exceptions, but so far FMP hasn’t. I find that its a decent anime but not amazing. Most of the characters are pretty great and interesting. It also has a reasonably good setting and background, but the plot takes itself too seriously some times, which isn’t always an issue in anime, but considering I don’t quite know where the plot is even going yet after watching the first season, it definitely isn’t a positive. It touched on the background but didn’t really go into it as much as I would have hoped. I still have no idea what the “whispered” are or why Mithril exists, or whether I should even be wondering about these things or not.

Still, I am looking forward to watching Fumoffu as I would expect the plot won’t be taken as seriously and thus won’t be as much of an issue, as well as Second Raid which is more modern (widescreen woot!) and seems to have been reviewed better.

7/10

Leave a Reply

