Into the Woods

First rule of fairy tales: End at happily ever after. Trying to continue past that can either lead to B-rate movies such as Cinderella II, movies that are nothing like fairy tales such as Atlantis II, or…. this. In Into the Woods the various fairy tales of Cinderella, Jack and the Bean Stalk, Rapunzel, and Little Red Riding Hood and mixes them all together through a quest requiring a baker and a bakers wife to gather objects from the various fairy tales. They do so and everyone seems to find a happy ending. But the entire point of this movie is essentially that there is something after the happily ever after in fairy tales that is not so rosy. This is something that I don’t think really needed exploring simply because I love happy endings and everything they embody. Yes of course there is something after that and it probably won’t be as nice as the happy ending, but just overall with these types of tales and with media in general I prefer that things end on a high note.

The movie is quite well made and I liked it, don’t get me wrong on that. I enjoyed the first half of the movie a great deal seeing all the fairy tales mix and intertwine. The writing was also pretty good throughout. I liked the music a great deal. I also just loved the general atmosphere with the pretty dresses and way of speaking and what not. The movie was overall a pretty good movie. But the direction the second half went in I really didn’t like. If they had thrown in something or other that resolved the issue with Repunzel, her mother the witch, and the prince better and just ended at that happily ever after I think I would have enjoyed the movie a lot more. As it is the movie just dragged into territory that as I said, fairy tales should stay away from for the most part. People died, relationships were broken, something that overall just completely shattered the fairy tale quality of the movie, which is an aspect I quite enjoyed. Overall still a good movie, but not really to my tastes.

7/10

2 thoughts on “Into the Woods

  1. This is an adaptation of a stage musical, if that explains. And Rapunzel was supposed to die in the original version, but I heard she did not in the film version. I am not sure because I haven’t seen the film yet. It seems that you did not comment much about the music. This is one of the best pieces that Stephen Sondheim has ever produced, being a highly acclaimed musical on Broadway.

    1. Ouch. Yeah Rapunzel survives. If the musical was even more in that direction I would probably like the musical less than the movie. I’m a sucker for happy endings.
      Regarding music, I’m probably not the best person to ask. I know little to nothing about music nor am I particularly good at appreciating it in any form. I said that I liked the music, and I truly did. It was amazingly well done. But beyond that I don’t really know what to say.

Leave a Reply

